Log in

The Lunn Lecture

The Lunn Lecture is given every second year during the afternoon session of TCOS's Scientific Session.  This lecture is sponsored by the COC and the COS and given by an orthoptist chosen by the COC Board of Directors. The individual chosen for this lecture must have had a positive influence on Orthoptics through clinical practice, research or education. 

The nominations for this lecture may come from any individual (Orthoptist or Physician), whether a COC member or not. To nominate, please send a brief statement outlining why the person deserves this recognition to

The Prism Award

The Prism Award was created in 2005 to publicly thank and recognize the ophthalmologists and orthoptists who have made significant contributions to the profession and/or  Council over the years. The award is inscribed with “In recognition of your leadership and guidance”.

Past Lunn Lecturers:

2023 – Darren Oystreck, "Egocentric Existential Observations Informing Evolutionary Considerations", Quebec City, Quebec.

2021- Jocelyn Zurevinsky, “The Things that won’t change in a million years…. Challenging what we were taught”. Ottawa, Ontario.

2019 - Linda Colpa, “Non-disparity based 3D depth perception: A review of stereopsis”; “An introduction to monocular occlusions.”  Quebec City, Quebec.

2017 - Ronna Hjertaas, “50 years of TCOS” Montreal, Quebec. 

2015 – Joan Parkinson, “Canadian Orthoptists: Answering questions from Catherine Lunn to present day”.  Victoria, BC

2013 – Raquel (Kelly) Beneish, “Residual Tenacious Functional Amblyopia: Underlying Organic Component?” Montreal, Quebec

2011 – Karen McMain, “Fix My Gaze” Vancouver, BC

2009 – Louise Labow-Daily, “A New Look at an Old Practice.”  Toronto, Ontario

Past Prism Award Recipients: 

2023 : Dr. Michael O’Connor, 2009 - 2016 (7 years) and Charlotte Riguidel, 2017 - 2023 (6 years).

2022: Ann Haver, 2003-2011, 2014-2022. (16 years). Ann’s vast experience within the COC started when she was VP in 2003-2008, where she reshaped the Bylaws to allow greater Orthoptist representation on the board. She also served as chair of the Canadian Consortium of Orthoptic Teaching Programs, where her work on the development of an updated syllabus and scope of practice helped guide the profession of Orthoptics forward. Ann was the first orthoptist appointed as Clinical Instructor at the University of Saskatchewan, where she was Orthoptic Program Director. Her impact on the profession has been far-reaching. Within the AACO teachers’ committee, she was involved in many initiatives, including the production of an advertising video to woo new students, receiving the Lancaster Award in 2003 for her contributions. Despite retiring from active practice in Orthoptics, Ann graciously assumed the role as the COC administrative coordinator in 2014, allowing the COC to continue thriving. Her organizational skills and expertise were highly regarded by the board, and her valuable perspective on issues pertaining to the Orthoptic profession acted as a sounding board for new ideas. She was the gentle but persistent voice of the COC’s institutional memory, building on its foundations, while staying focused on its future!

2022: Karen Nicholson, 2005 – 2022 (17 years). Karen’s first role in the COC was that of Atlantic Provinces representative in 2005. She held this role until 2013, while also serving on the Professional Practice Committee during this period from 2018 to 2022. Karen was instrumental in harmonizing the many different versions of the Code of Ethics; her attention to detail and diligent work on the production of these documents has given them clarity and meaning. Karen has also been highlighting the accomplishments of other orthoptists as editor of the TCOS newsletter for several years, and has been an important voice of the orthoptic profession

2022: Louis Etienne Marcoux,  2007 – 2021 (14 years).  Dr. Louis-√Čtienne Marcoux served as secretary treasurer for the COC from 2007-2021His work within the COC was no-doubt influenced by his work with the Dalhousie University orthoptists during his fellowship training. His respect for the profession and its role within the Ophthalmology team was obvious during his training, and he particularly enjoyed discussions around difficult cases. His diligent and attentive care throughout ensured that cheques were written, deposits were made, projections were given, books were balanced, and clear and concise reports were produced for the COC board.

2019-2021: no recipients 

2018: Linda Colpa 

2017: May Chidiac 

2016: Kelly Beneish 

2015: Carole Panton 

2014: Dr. Tom France 

2013: Dr. Margaret Kilshaw, 2005 to 2012 (7 years).

2013: Louise Labow-Daily, 2005 to 2013 (8 years) and Dr. Maryam Aroichaine,  2010 to 2013 (3 years).

2011:  Ann Haver, 2003-2011 (8 years). Ann served as vice-president from 2003-2008 and then as CCOTP representative from 2008-2011.  She reworked both the Bylaws of the COC and the Handbook (Policy and Procedure Manual of the COC) during her term as vice-president. 

2011: Dr. Brian Arthur, 2005-2010 (5 years). Dr. Arthur was President of the COC from 2007 to 2010, graciously extending his term by 1 year. Prior to that he was president-elect for 2 years. 

2010: Dr. Robert La Roche, 1989-2010 (21 years.) Dr. La Roche has been an active member of the COC since 1986.  He was secretary-treasurer from 1986-92, Vice-Chairman 1990-92, Chairman from 1992-1994, Vice Chair 1999-2003, and President again 2003- 2006.  He has also served as the COC representative to the CMA.  Robert has worked hard on behalf of all orthoptists to strengthen the profession both provincially and nationally. 

2009: Ken Romanchuk, 1982 to 2009 (27 years). Ken was the COC Saskatchewan representative in 1982 through to 2005. From 1992 to 1996 he was Secretary Treasurer. In 1999 he was on the exam committee and then from 2003 to 2008 he was on the exam committee chair. From 2006 to 2009 he was Prairie Representative.  He also has done site accreditation visits twice 1997 for Toronto and again in 2002 for Vancouver. 

2009: Dr. Ross Kennedy, 1990 to 2009 (19 years) . Dr. Kennedy started with COC 1990 as BC representative.  He took over the CE committee from Dr. Kraft in approximately 1995.  

2007: Bonnie Skov, 1981 to 2007 (26 years). 

2006:  David Smith, 1971 to 2005  (34 years). William Clarke, 1976 to 2005 (29 years). John Little, 1981 to 2005 (24 years). Stephen Kraft, 1984 to 2005 (21 years). E.Paul Shuckett, 1990 to 2005 (15 years). Robert Orton, 1980 to 1993 (13 years). Linda Cooper, 1998 to 2004 (6 years). Keith Yap, 2001 to 2003 (2 years). Megan Rees, 2002 to 2004 (2 years).

Contact Us

Questions? Contact the COC Office Assistant at

Member Login:

Log in
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software